RCR Wireless News’ Mobile Movers & Shakers 2008: The full list


Welcome to our inaugural special report on Mobile Movers and Shakers for 2008. In this report, RCR Wireless News recognizes just some of the people who have been or hope to be instrumental in shaping the industry, leading it into new areas and creating for it fresh opportunities.

We’ve been doling out the list over the past few days, but today we’ve included all 20 selections.

This list is by no means exhaustive, either in terms of nominees or categories. It leaves out many worthy candidates, a point that we want to acknowledge upfront. In fact, we received more than 400 nominations from readers.

It also isn’t a list of “winners.” Some of the companies represented herein have yet to experience financial or critical success.

Indeed, this list is just a starting point – for us and, we hope, for you. So please enjoy our first attempt at assembling a linear list out of this messy, chaotic and topsy-turvy industry, even as we begin to take a closer look at some of the people who likely will be next year’s movers and shakers. – Tracy Ford, Editor and Associate Publisher

Dale Sohn, president, Samsung Tele-communications America

Paul Jacobs, CEO, Qualcomm Inc.

Mike Lazaridis,left, and Jim Balsillie, Research In Motion Ltd., co-CEOs.

Andy Rubin, head of Google’s Android efforts

Gigi Sohn, a founder of Public Knowledge

Evan Williams, CEO Twitter

Michael Chang, CEO and Co-Founder, Greystripe

Nihal Mehta, CEO and co-founder of buzzd

Daren Tsui, CEO and co-founder, mSpot Inc.

Jeff Sellinger, EVP and GM, CBS Mobile

Charlie Martin, CTO,
Huawei Technologies Inc.

Jim Nelson and Dennis Specht,
co-founders of Roundbox Inc.

Omar Hamoui,
CEO and Founder, AdMob

Sean Cai, Deputy General Manager
of the ZTE WiMax product line

Rep. Edward Markey (D-Mass.)

Dan Hesse, CEO of Sprint Nextel

Frank O’Mara, chief marketing officer at Alltel

F.J. Pollak, president of
TracFone Wireless Inc.

Shawn Score, President
of Best Buy Mobile

Michael Foley, Ph.D., executive director of the Bluetooth SIG

About Author

RCR Wireless News